Open to residents of Australia and New Zealand, the prize is for short stories up to 3,000 words on an assigned theme.

The winner receives a cash prize of $500 and publication in Tasmania 40°South.



Boy | Melissa Manning (VIC)

Melissa is a writer of short and long form fiction. Her work has appeared in several publications, including Award Winning Australian Writing, Best Small Fictions (US), Overland, and The Big Issue. She won the 2015 Overland Story Wine Prize, and has placed or been shortlisted in other competitions, including the Overland VU Short Story Award and the Bath Flash Fiction Award. Her novel manuscripts have earned her support through the Varuna Residency Fellowship, and the ACT Writers’ Centre HARDCOPY program. She is currently working on a short story collection with the support of an ASA Emerging Writers’ Mentorship funded by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund.

Highly commended

Hell’s Gate | Nicola Wardley (QLD)

Nicola who grew up in England, Hong Kong, Australia and Papua New Guinea, is a writer of short stories and fiction. She recently graduated from the University of Queensland’s Writing, Editing and Publishing program, which she found immensely valuable. Her short story The Lesson in the Lens appears in the Stringybark Press 2018 Malicious Mysteries anthology. She lives in Queensland and writes an occasional blog on https://www.nicolawardley.com/ 


Bushfires | MJ Clark (SA)

Two Beach Chairs Facing the Sea | Keren Heenan (VIC)

Skelpers | Jennie Herrera (TAS)

The Horse | Ursula Horlock (TAS)

Lost | Margaret Hutchings (NSW)

Keeping Quiet | Allison Mitchell (TAS)

The Brough of Birsay | Arna Radovich (NSW)

Isle de Mort | Sarah White (TAS)


Lian Tanner’s best-selling Keepers Trilogy has been translated into nine languages and won two won consecutive Aurealis Awards for Best Australian Children’s Fantasy. Her second series, The Hidden, is published in Australia and North America. The first book in her third series, The Rogues, was released in 2017. liantanner.com.au

James Dryburgh writes essays about important things. His books are Essays from Near and Far (Walleah Press, 2014) and The Balfour Correspondent (Bob Brown Foundation, 2017). Jamesdryburgh.com

Robbie Arnott’s fiction and non-fiction has been published in Island, Kill Your Darlings, The Lifted Brow, Going Down Swinging and many other publications. He won the 2014 Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers and the 2015 Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship. His debut novel, Flames, will be published by Text in May 2018.

Winning stories will be published in the Forty South Short Story Anthology 2018.

(see the 40S Bookshop to purchase your copy of previous anthologies)

Entries for the Tasmanian Writers’ Prize 2019 will open in September 2018 and close February 18, 2019

Young Tasmanian Writers’ Prize 2018

A competition run in partnership with the Tasmanian Association for the Teaching of English



The Van Diemen History Anthology 2019

Good writing about history can be engaging, insightful, poignant or intriguing, but the underlying research will always be authentic and rigorous. To foster quality writing about Tasmanian history, Forty South Publishing is initiating a biennial prize for non-fiction history articles written for a general audience.

The prize is for articles up to 3,000 words, on any aspect of Tasmanian history prior to the 21st century.

The winning entry will receive a cash prize of $500 and publication in Tasmania 40°South.

A selection of the best entries will be published in an edited volume, The Van Diemen History Prize Anthology 2019 (publication estimated to be in mid-2019)

Entries open July 1, 2018

Entries must be lodged by September 24, 2018

Sponsored By:

The winner of each section receives $300 and publication in Tasmania 40° South magazine. Runners up receive a $30 Fullers Bookshop gift voucher.